The Eagle House Hotel was built as a private town house in 1755 and stands next to the ancient Launceston castle, enjoying amazing views of the rolling Cornish Countryside.
In 1963 the grand Georgian house became a hotel and restaurant and over time flourished into one of the cornerstones of Launceston’s event and celebration circuits steeped in memories for many local residents.
After standing empty for two years from 2015 local farmer owners Bill and Rebecca Perry embarked on a rescue mission by buying the hotel in January 2017, and loving restoring and rejuvenating it to its former grander. Jack, their resident distiller joined the team later that year and in 2018 they were granted a licence to distil gin on site - Eagle One Gin was born.
In 2019 we were successful in securing some grant funding from the European fund for rural development, helping to ensure a sustainable future for our beautiful building and our devoted local team.
We invested in the building of an in-keeping yet contemporary bar housing our stunning 230 litre bespoke gin still. He's names after the founder of Launceston; Robert, Count of Mortain, Second Earl of Cornwall and Brother of King William the Conqueror.
'Bob' for short...
We make small batch craft gins that we're very proud of and would love you to join us for a glass on our stunning terrace.
We highly recommend staying to catch the sunset...